Xiaflex or Surgery?

Previous topic - Next topic

tonyode

I know ultimately it is my choice. My doctor presented both options. I have a 55 degree bend at the base, to the left. He said surgery success rate (grafting) is 95%. And typical patient is healed up around 6 weeks. The Xiaflex injections success rate is around 60% and takes well over 6 months to complete the series of shots. And from what I have read, they are painful and other complications can arise.

Would appreciate any feedback from those who have had the grafting surgery.....I keep going back and forth. i am currently set up and approved to start Xiaflex in about 4 weeks.

Early 50s, 7 months diagnosed. 55 degree curve, indentation at base to the left.

JohnR

I have the same curve you do about 2" up from the base. Was 60-70* left, now 35-40. I just had my 4th round of Xiaflex. While I haven't gotten the results that I hoped for, do EVERYTHING ELSE before you do surgery.  
50 year old, onset in Feb. '18, diagnosed in Mar '18, 4 rounds of Xiaflex completed, little improvement, mentally overwhelmed...ED issues, major anxiety issues now.

Pfract

I'm sure other members can chime in, with more experience than I have. But there are several cases here of users that had xiaflex and had great improvements with the drug. I think it's worth trying first if you have that motivation to begin with.. That, along with traction and Ved. Carefully. Very carefully!  

Hawk

Tony Welcome to the forum.